Loading Events

« All Events

Academic Editing Book Club: The Art of Academic Editing

June 7th @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EDT

Register to join the EFA / Editors Canada Joint Academic Editing Book Club (JAEBC) on Friday, June 7, at 10 a.m. PDT / 1 p.m. EDT, where we will discuss The Art of Academic Editing, a book aimed at demystifying key stages in the editorial process. As the first full-length guide to the different types of editorial services, it facilitates effective collaboration between authors and editors as the field of academic editing.

The Art of Academic Editing covers the following topics:

  • Developmental editing
  • Book coaching
  • Working with international authors
  • Working with graduate students
  • Line editing
  • Copyediting
  • Indexing
  • Proofreading

The eight contributing authors—experts in their fields—explain the nuts and bolts of their editing practices, using real-life models and sharing tips for both scholarly writers and editors. The book is written in an engaging, nontechnical style for all readers, regardless of background or editing experience. With a glossary of common terms and an online resource guide, this is the essential handbook for scholarly editors and the authors working with them.

Purchase The Art of Academic Editing from Amazon and apply the code EFAACED2024 for a discount.

Authors Cara M. Jordan and Leslie Castro-Woodhouse will join the event.

(Alt text: Flyer with the text, “Academic Editing Book Club, Next Meeting: Friday, June 7, 10am PT / 1pm ET.”)

Details

Date:
June 7
Time:
1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EDT EDT
Website:
https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZUvdOmgqzMuGNNRd72hbdB912rMvzoUIMOb#/registration

Chapter

Academic Editing

Office Closed Monday April 8.

The EFA Offices will be closed Monday, April 8, 2024. We will reopen on Tuesday, April 9. Job postings, discussion list subscriptions, and other customer service requests may not be responded to until then.

Solar eclipse